Sheriff Kiwi

Describe Your Artwork:

The artwork featured is of a kiwi bird. This bird is dressed as a cowboy/sheriff which can be seen on the sheriff’s star that he wears on his body. He has a cowboy hat and a belt which brings his outfit full circle. In the background, a desert can be seen with a hot, glaring sun in the sky and a cactus behind the bird. There is a beautiful blue sky where not one cloud can be seen, and when looking at the sun the words “YOU GOT THIS, PARTNER” can be seen written in the Texas Tango font. The theme of the project is western and features a cute kiwi bird as its center of attention.

 

How Did You Create Your Art?:

The artwork was created using Adobe Illustrator which is a graphic design software that helps create such works of art. First, the sheriff bird was made and was then exported to a different canvas that was formatted to fit the card that would be printed. On this canvas, the background for the piece was made which includes the sky, dirt, and sun. The cactus was then added and all of its details as well. Lastly, shadows, gradients, and blurred lines were added to make the project look more realistic.

 

What Was The Big Idea Behind Your Artwork?:

The main idea behind my artwork was the thought that cowboys and sheriffs are tough. Living in the desert, carrying out everyday farm duties, and enforcing the law are no easy tasks. Moreover, I believe that sheriffs are a good representation of strength because they need to deal with bad guys all the time, but still don’t give up. This paired with the fact that cowboys are cool and interesting make them the perfect thing to make a project based on. The motivational message at the top helps to portray what a cowboy would say to those who are good people while also adding a little western dialect in as well. The big idea of the project is that you need to stay tough through rough times just like a cowboy/sheriff would!

 

What Were Your Goals For This Artwork?:

My goals for this project was to hopefully inspire others to stay strong when they are going through rough times, just like a cowboy/sheriff would. I wanted to display to others that everyone is strong in their own way and that while you may not see it, everyone can be as tough and cool as a cowboy is!

 

What Are Your Overall Thoughts Of Your Artwork?:

I am proud of my artwork especially with the sun, the text, and the shadows. I originally wanted to make my project look cartoonish and I think that I ended up accomplishing that goal, but I was also able to add some sense of realism to it through the shadows and how I blurred colors together. These things made me very proud of my work because they showed my growth throughout the project. Not only do I think that I grew a lot while working, I also ended up being very happy with my project and how it came out in general.


Leave a Reply